American Masters

June 5, 2022

Jazz at Lincoln Center


The ASO offers another free performance to close its 60th anniversary season. In line with the ASO’s long history of championing American artists, the closing concert offers a trio of living American Pulitzer Prize-winning composers including Melinda Wagner and two of her mentors, Richard Wernick and Shulamit Ran. Philadelphia-born Melinda Wagner’s Concerto for Flute, Strings, and Percussion was distinguished for its well-crafted flute solo. Boston native Richard Wernick’s Viola Concerto—written for violist Walter Trampler and Leon Botstein (who conducted the 1987 premiere)—alludes to the well-known Dylan Thomas poem “Do not go gentle into that good night.” Shulamit Ran’s Symphony, commissioned by The Philadelphia Orchestra, also won the Kennedy Center Friedheim Award the same year as her 1991 Pulitzer.

The program’s highlight is the world premiere of Roberto Sierra’s newly commissioned Concerto for Electric Violin, which presents a mixture of Sierra’s Latin-influenced ideas and modern compositional techniques through the voice of the electric violin, performed by the renowned electric violinist Tracy Silverman.

This performance is being offered for free as a gift to the City of New York. Processing fees will apply.

We believe excellent orchestral music should be accessible to all, not reserved for a privileged few. In this spirit, we are offering free admission for this concert. If you have the means, please consider making a donation to help make more programs like this possible and provide “great music for everyone.”






June 5, 2022
Conductor’s Notes Q&A 7PM–7:30 PM Concert 8PM
Jazz at Lincoln Center


Melinda Wagner (b. 1957)
Concerto for Flute, Strings, and Percussion (1998)

I. Playful
II. Sad, Simple; Warm
III. Quarter = Ca. 100

Roberto Sierra (b. 1953)
Ficciones, Concerto for Electric Violin and Orchestra (2022) – World Premiere

Richard Wernick (b. 1934)
Viola Concerto (“Do not go gentle…”) (1986)

I. “Do not go gentle…”
II. “…into that good night”

Shulamit Ran (b. 1949)
Symphony (1990)



Leon Botstein


Tracy Silverman, Electric Violin

fa386f20_Jiyang Chen Smile

Matthew Lipman, Viola


Tara Helen O’Connor, Flute