Duke Ellington + Marcus Roberts Trio

March 24, 2022

Carnegie Hall


The ASO toasts the genre-defying genius of Duke Ellington with an evening including New World A-Comin’ and Three Black Kings for jazz trio and full orchestra with renowned jazz pianist Marcus Roberts. Originally scheduled for March 2020 but canceled due to the pandemic, the concert features Grammy Award-winning jazz vocalist Catherine Russell. Don’t miss this chance to hear a full orchestra perform Ellington’s iconic music on the stage of Carnegie Hall, where he played a series of annual concerts and premiered many of his greatest works, including Black, Brown, and Beige and Night Creature.

In lieu of the canceled concert, Marcus Roberts collaborated with the ASO on a short film created in response to the turbulence of 2020, United We Play. Released in December 2020, the film features three world premieres commissioned by ASO.

Tickets will go on sale December 22, 2021 and will be available at carnegiehall.org, by calling CarnegieCharge at 212.247.7800, or visiting the box office at 57th St & 7th Ave. Ticket holders will need to show proof of full vaccination against COVID-19 using a vaccine approved by the World Health Organization (WHO) in order to enter the building.


March 24, 2022
8 PM
Carnegie Hall


All-Duke Ellington

Black, Brown, and Beige Suite (Arr. Maurice Peress)
Satin Doll (Arr. Chuck Israels)
Harlem (Arr. Luther Henderson & Maurice Peress)
Sophisticated Lady (Arr. Morton Gould)
New World A Comin’ (Arr. Maurice Peress)
Three Black Kings (Completed by Mercer Ellington, Arr. Luther Henderson)
Night Creature for Jazz Band and Orchestra (Arr. Luther Henderson, Ed. Gunther Schuller)


Marcus Roberts Trio
Marcus Roberts, piano
Rodney Jordan, bass
Jason Marsalis, drums
Catherine Russell, vocalist