Mahler in New York

December 16, 2021

Cathedral of St. John the Divine


This performance is now sold out. Doors will open at 6 pm for the pre-concert talk with Music Director Leon Botstein at 7 pm. Ticketholders should arrive at the Cathedral no later than 7:30 to ensure a seat for the performance. There will be a standby line for patrons without tickets that will be seated after 7:50 pm, so please plan your arrival time accordingly.

The ASO opens its 60th anniversary season with a free concert at the glorious Cathedral of St. John the Divine. The program paints a portrait of Mahler’s residency in New York City through works by his lesser-known contemporaries including George Whitefield Chadwick, Alphons Diepenbrock, and Henry Hadley. Mahler’s famous Adagio from his Symphony No. 10 will also be performed. Leon Botstein shares the stories behind the music in a lively 30-minute pre-concert talk at 7 PM.

We are overjoyed at our return to the stage after the restrictions of the past year and to once again be able to play for our beloved audiences in person. To celebrate this especially meaningful event on the occasion of our 60th anniversary season makes it even more significant. —Leon Botstein

This performance is being offered for free as a gift to the City of New York. Reservations are required. Ticket holders will need to show proof of full vaccination against COVID-19, more information on the Cathedral’s COVID-19 policy can be found here. Masks must be worn at all times.

We believe excellent orchestral music should be accessible to all, not reserved for a privileged few. In this spirit, we are offering free admission for this concert. If you have the means, please consider making a donation to help make more programs like this possible and provide “great music for everyone.”






December 16, 2021
Doors 6PM Pre-concert Talk 7PM–7:30 PM Concert 8PM
Cathedral of St. John the Divine


George Whitefield Chadwick (1854-1931)
Melpomene Overture (1887)

Henry Hadley (1871-1937)
The Culprit Fay, Op. 62 (1908)

Alphons Diepenbrock (1862-1921)
Hymne an die Nacht (1899)

Gustav Mahler (1860-1911)
Adagio from Symphony No. 10 (1910)



Taylor Raven