Taneyev’s At the Reading of a Psalm

January 28, 2022

Carnegie Hall


The ASO returns to Carnegie Hall for its Vanguard Series with the U.S. Premiere of Sergei Taneyev’s final work, At the Reading of a Psalm. Conceived as a massive statement of Russian Orthodox faith at the onset of WWI, this large-scale cantata for full orchestra, double chorus, and vocal soloists showcases the dramatic effect of Taneyev’s contrapuntal mastery.

Tickets are available at carnegiehall.org, by calling CarnegieCharge at 212.247.7800, or visiting the box office at 57th St & 7th Ave. Ticket holders will need to show proof of full vaccination against COVID-19 using a vaccine approved by the World Health Organization (WHO) in order to enter the building. Masks must be worn at all times.





January 28, 2022
8 PM
Carnegie Hall


Sergei Taneyev (1856-1915)
At the Reading of a Psalm (1915)

First Movement

“The earth is trembling” (Allegro tempestoso)
“Israel! You build temples for me” (Andante sostenuto)
“But I do not need splendid temple vaults” Triple Fugue (Fuga a tre soggetti, Andante – Allegro molto)

Second Movement
“I do not need gold. Into the earth’s depths” (Allegro moderato) – Fuga (Allegro tenebroso)
“I need no incense” (Andante)
“I do not need fires” (Adagio ma non troppo)

Third Movement
“Your gift is so poor” (Allegro appassionato)
“But there is a priceless gift” (Adagio piu tosto largo)
“I need your heart to be purer than gold” (Finale)


04 Joshua Blue photo credit Caitlin Odham

Joshua Blue, Tenor

Gigliotti Headshot

Eve Gigliotti, Mezzo-soprano


Harold Wilson, Bass

Wendy Bryn Harmer, soprano
Eve Gigliotti, mezzo-soprano
Joshua Blue, tenor
Harold Wilson, bass