50th Birthday Celebration

October 26, 2012

Carnegie Hall


10/26/2012 at 08:00 PM – Carnegie Hall
1962 Prices! $1.50/$3/$4/$5/$6/$7

ASO celebrates its Golden Jubilee with a concert of its “greatest hits,” starting with the first piece the orchestra ever played, Stokowski’s arrangement of The Star-Spangled Banner. You’ll also hear Mahler’s massive 8th Symphony, which received great acclaim at the 2002 Bard Music Festival, and Ives’ 4th, which the ASO debuted at Carnegie Hall in 1965.

Maestro Leon Botstein shares the stories behind the music in a lively 30-minute Conductor’s Notes Q&A at 7 PM in Stern Auditorium/Perelman Stage. Free for all ticket holders.

  • Blair McMillen, piano
  • Rebecca Davis, soprano
  • Abbie Furmansky, soprano
  • Katherine Whyte, soprano
  • Fredrika Brillembourg, mezzo-soprano
  • Susan Platts, mezzo-soprano
  • Clay Hilley, tenor
  • Tyler Duncan, baritone
  • Denis Sedov, bass
  • Brooklyn Youth Chorus
  • The Collegiate Chorale

The Empire State Building will be lit red and white on Oct 26 for ASO’s 50th Birthday!
Thanks to the Empire State Building Company for this special honor.

The Empire State Building image ® is a registered trademark of ESBC and is used with permission.

  • John Stafford Smith (Arr. Leopold Stokowski) — The Star-Spangled Banner
  • Gustav Mahler — Symphony No. 8
  • Charles Ives — Symphony No. 4

Concert Notes


October 26, 2012
Carnegie Hall