A Salute to America’s Jazz Royalty: The Count, The Duke and The King

Livestream, 2022



A truly American genre, the ASO presented this jazz ensemble as a salute to America’s jazz royalty: New Jersey-native jazz pianist, organist, and composer Count Basie, considered one of the all-time greatest bandleaders; singer and jazz pianist Nat King Cole, the first Black American to host a TV variety show; and Duke Ellington, whose totally original musical style used a unique blend of both classical and jazz compositional techniques that combined improvisation with written works. Featuring award-winning multi-instrumentalist Alexa Tarantino and accomplished trombonist Dion Tucker.

This performance was part of a free chamber music series in partnership with Bryant Park with programs curated by ASO musicians.

The ASO’s Chamber Series is made possible by the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of the Office of the Governor and the New York State Legislature.

This program is supported, in part, by public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council.



Livestream, 2022


Alexa Tarantino, alto Sax/flute
Dion Tucker, trombone
Lee Musiker, piano
Lou Bruno, bass
Kory Grossman, drums