String Quartet at City Winery

January 3, 2024

City Winery Grand Central


Join us at City Winery Grand Central Terminal in the magnificent Vanderbilt Hall for a musician-curated program featuring a selection of works for string quartet that highlight connections in the ASO’s 2023-2024 mainstage orchestra season. The chamber ensemble will perform the first two movements of Vaughan Williams’ Household Music, following the orchestra’s participation in the 33rd Bard Music Festival, Vaughan Williams and His World, in August. In January, the ASO will present Antonín Dvořák’s rarely performed Requiem at Carnegie Hall. A contemporary of Dvořák was Bedřich Smetana, who conducted several premieres of Dvořák’s works. The ensemble will perform Smetana’s String Quartet No. 1, which Dvořák performed in the work’s premiere as violist. In March, the ASO takes on Schoenberg’s massive Gurre-Lieder. Although Schubert and Schoenberg were creating music a hundred years apart, they shared the ability to deconstruct traditional conceptions of music. Schubert rebelled against formal boundaries, while Schoenberg tested the natural tendencies of Western harmony. The string quartet will open the program with an exploration of this subjective expression of music through Schubert’s Quartettsatz.

This program is free and open to the public. Seating for the performance will begin at 7:30 PM and the concert will start at 8:00 PM.

The ASO’s Chamber Series is made possible by the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of the Office of the Governor and the New York State Legislature.

This program is supported, in part, by public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council.


January 3, 2024
8:00 PM
City Winery Grand Central


Franz Schubert (1797—1828)
Quartettsatz, D.703 (1820)

Ralph Vaughan Williams (1872—1958)
Household Music: Three Preludes on Welsh Hymn Tunes (1940-41)

    I. Crug-y-bar (Fantasia)
    II. St Denio (Scherzo)

Bedřich Smetana (1824—1884)
String Quartet No. 1,“Z mého života (From My Life)” (1876)

    I. Allegro vivo appassionato
    II. Allegro moderato à la Polka
    III. Largo sostenuto
    IV. Vivace


Cyrus Beroukhim, violin
Ashley Horne, violin
William Frampton, viola
Annabelle Hoffman, cello