Duke Ellington + Marcus Roberts Trio


Carnegie Hall


Out of respect for our audience and in light of the circumstances involving COVID-19, the ASO postponed its presentation of Duke Ellington + Marcus Roberts Trio originally scheduled for March 12, 2020. The performance will be rescheduled for a later date with the same cast and artists. Details of the rescheduled performance will be posted as soon as possible.

If you purchased tickets by credit card you will receive an automatic refund; those who purchased by cash at the Box Office may email a scan or photo of the tickets to feedback@carnegiehall.org, along with complete contact details (name, mailing address, and phone number), through June 30, 2020, for a refund. Those who purchased tickets directly from a third party should contact that organization for refund information.

If you have any further questions please email info@americansymphony.org or call 212-868-9276.

In an effort to reduce the spread of the virus, all events at Carnegie Hall are canceled until further notice.

We thank you for your patience as we navigate this evolving situation together.

The American Symphony Orchestra celebrates the genre-defying genius of Duke Ellington with an evening including two world premiere arrangements by Marcus Roberts of New World A-Comin’ and Three Black Kings for Jazz Trio and Large Orchestra. Don’t miss this chance to hear a full orchestra perform Ellington’s iconic music on the stage of Carnegie Hall, where he played a series of annual concerts and premiered many of his greatest works, including Black, Brown, and Beige and Night Creature. Special guest appearance by jazz royalty, Catherine Russell, whose singing has been celebrated with two Grammy awards.

Leon Botstein shares the stories behind the music in a lively 30-minute Conductor’s Notes Q&A at 7 PM in Stern Auditorium/Perelman Stage. Free for all ticket holders.

This program is supported, in part, by public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council.


Conductor’s Notes 7 PM-7:30 PM Concert 8 PM-10:00 PM
Carnegie Hall


Black, Brown, and Beige Suite
Satin Doll
Sophisticated Lady
New World A-Comin’ (arr. Marcus Roberts) World Premiere
Three Black Kings (arr. Marcus Roberts) World Premiere
Night Creature for Jazz Band and Orchestra



Leon Botstein


Marcus Roberts


Rodney Jordan


Jason Marsalis


Catherine Russell